Nitpicks

I’m sure everyone gets frustrated with other players at some point or another.  For me, more often than not, I find myself frustrated at a player not for what they do, but what they say.

I’m by no means the most knowledgeable player in this World of Warcraft, but I’d have to say that I probably know more than the average Joe.  I try to understand as much about my own class as I can, along with everything relating to raid encounters.  I also try to optimize the things I can do to help the others I’m playing with.  This makes whatever I’m doing quicker, easier, more efficient for everyone. 

It really gets under my skin when players say things that are incorrect, and it bugs the crap outta me when things are done  extremely inefficiently.

Don’t Say That

I probably get too caught up into what they are saying, versus what they mean.  It’s not the end of the world or anything, but for some reason it just makes me want to reach through the interwebs and give them a solid smack on their head.

And I’m not generally a person that angers easily either.  Usually I’m a pretty easy to get along with.  But for some reason when I see players say certain things, I just wanna rip my hair out!  And some of it is just silly too, honestly.  Ironically, when a player obviously has no clue what he’s talking about makes me less angry than someone who thinks they know what they are talking about, but don’t have all their facts straight, or are using the wrong terms. 

 

Just Plain Wrong

There’s a ton of stuff I read on the forums, in Trade chat – hell, even in my own guild chat – that are just plain wrong.  The player saying it generally has the basic concept down, but what they are saying is technically inaccurate. 

Defense Cap

Wrong.  What the player means is “Defense minimum”, as in, “Unless you have at least 540 Defense, take a seat pal.”  There is no Defense cap.  As I said in the Dimishing Returns post, a cap is when something stops providing any benefit at all.  Defense still provides very nice benefits well past the 540 mark.  While you can stop worrying about Defense Skill as a tank after you hit 540, it is not the end-all-be-all.

Block Diminishing Returns

Again, in reference to my DR post, Block as a stat does not have a DR.  Shield Slam and Shield of Righteousness DO have dimishing returns BASED on Shield Block Value.  But the stat will continue to provide the full damage absoption based on your SBV and any applicable modifiers.

Cracking the Whip

My guild is taking a one week break from WoW currently.  It’s back to school time for kids, and those with kids.  We did manage to kill Anub’arak in ToC25, completing one of our goals.  It just seemed like a good time to rest – I think we all knew we needed it.  The following is something I will bring up with them as soon as we start raiding in 2 weeks.

Raiding More Efficiently

No one likes wiping, especially over and over again such as when learning new content.  Ideally we’d all just get up, drink and give it another go.  But, unfortunately we have to wait for our Soul Stoner to get up, and start rezzing – 1 agonizing player at a time – then being the buffing/drinking process.  Or, worse yet, we can all run back from the graveyard.  Some runs aren’t too bad (Coliseum), some are horrid (running back to General Vezax).

Even with a lengthy run from a graveyard, you can still maximize your efficiency and minimze “down time” (that is time not spent actually in combat with a boss) during your raids. 

Buff, Then Drink

One of the most frustrating things to me as a Raid Leader is when I see all my raiders at full HP and mana, but they aren’t ready yet.  To me, full HP and mana means you’re ready to go – what else are you waiting for?  Most commonly, the reason for unreadiness is that there are buffs missing for one reason or another.  They shouldn’t be.

Taking one example – Prayer of Fortitude, a Priest needs to cast this only once for the entire raid to receive the buff.  At level 80, this very powerfull spell costs a mind alterting 2661 mana.  You read that correctly, two thousand six hundred sixty-one mana.  A Priest in just Heroic 5 man gear should have around 16k mana unbuffed.  Walking back from the graveyard yeilds about 50% of your total mana pool (that’s about 8k for those keeping track at home).  So any Priest with at least some gear on should be able to buff an entire raid after running back from the graveyard without having to drink anything.  Prayer of Spirit has the same mana cost and could also be cast in conjuction with Fortitude without having to drink 1 drop of mana rejuvinating water.

Of course this all goes out the window if the player is receives a resurrection instead of walking back.

The same is true for nearly all classes and buffs, with the one exception being non-Holy Paladins.  Protection and Retribution Paladins generally do not increase their mana pools beyond the base, making for a very small mana pool in relation to the amount of mana needed to buff a raid.

Buff, then rez.  If you’ve been resurrected, drink a bit – no need to waste an extra 10 secs drinking to full when you’re just going to blow a good chunk of your mana anyway and have to redrink.  After you’ve buffed all your buffs, then sit down, and enjoy a nice, delicious Mana Strudel.

~ by Andenthal on September 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Nitpicks”

  1. “Buff, then rez.” Then buff the newly walking people again? That doesn’t seem so efficient.

    Don’t soulstone/ankh/di, they don’t save time they save wipes. For the purposes of “sticking to your guns” your soulstone people should just release if it’s a wipe. If you’re in the mindset of using soulstone for wipe “protection” then you’re not thinking about the right things when fighting the boss.

    Here’s an efficient way to reboot. These can’t be implemented as guidelines, but as rules.

    Wipe. Release. Run to the instance, wait inside the door. When everyone is in range, Aspect of the Pack it up and buff while running.

    For long runs(illidari council, general, bql) this is a good time to /follow and pee. Let raid chat know and just do it. Encourage this. No one should be sprinting ahead. Discourage this.

    When you get to the boss, ready check before you food buff/drink, click ok when ready(not before) and pull. You can even talk about what went wrong while running.

    • I agree with the “don’t buff when everyone’s not here” thing. I guess I should have specified that I was referring to when everyone is there, seemingly ready to go. Also – nice tip on the Aspect of the Pack.

Leave a Reply

 
